Back At It

Although I haven’t written in a while, it seems fitting to pause and take stock of all that has happened in the past few months. I have been meaning to sit down and write, but for a number of excuses, I never really got it together to actually do it until now. I am not even sure if I have any readers still at this point, but reflection is still good for the soul, no matter who reads it.

1393130_10100960109016263_2245025337464942840_n

Harrison the Handsome

In a few short months, I have experienced some life-changing events. In May, my husband and I sold our house and bought a new one in Bellevue. Just the selling and purchasing was stressful enough, but then we had 30 days to vacate our home.  We moved a week before school let out for summer, and then a week after11822658_10100999742889663_8923381025728660134_n that, we had our second son Harrison. My summer has been spent figuring out how to mother two children and update and maintain a house. Turns out the updating process is more of a long term commitment. In addition, this month I started a new teaching position at Millard West. I left East after nine years and am excited for this new adventure. It hasn’t even been two weeks and I am absolutely certain this was the right move for me.

So all of these things happened within a couple months of each other. Just the other day as I was driving to work, I asked myself if I was experiencing a mid-life crisis that would explain all of the changes. But I don’t think that’s it. It’s just the right time to move, have another baby, and start a new job. It just so happens that it was the right time for all three. Given my penchant for overextending myself, I wouldn’t expect anything different.

Starting my new job has been exciting and risky at the same time. I’ve been trying to describe how this job is different from the last one, and it’s hard to describe. All I’ve come up with so far is that in this new job, I want to work harder. Because of the people I work for and with, I want to work harder than I did before, which is a good litmus test for a great place to be, in my mind.

At this point, as I start a new school year, in a new place, I am reconnecting with my problem of practice and getting going on writing again. Although my teaching setting has changed, my research is still applicable without iPads, which is the point. Truth be told, I’ve missed writing. I am also surprised to still be enraptured in my topic– I half expected to be sick of it by now, but the opposite is true.

The going is slow, but I’m making progress. Stay tuned!

Leave a Comment

